AEI Student Design Competition

Omaha, Nebraska | April 5, 2018



The Architectural Engineering Institute (AEI) was created by ASCE in 1998 to be the professional home of architectural engineers and to address the needs of the architectural engineering profession. The mission of AEI is “to serve the building community by promoting an integrated, multi-disciplinary approach to planning, design, construction, and operation of buildings and by encouraging excellence in practice, education, and research of architectural engineering.” AEI is the home for all professionals in the building industry. AEI provides a multi-disciplinary national forum for members of, but not limited to, the architectural engineering, structural, mechanical, electrical, and architectural communities.

Since students are expected to be the next generation of members, supporting student activities is of strategic importance for the future of AEI. AEI has supported existing student chapters and encouraged the creation of new ones at Institutions offering Architectural Engineering programs. Since student membership is free, the AEI student membership represents the majority of the student population of the architectural engineering programs.

Join AEI as a Student

For more information, please visit the AEI homepage.

AEI Student Design Competition

The AEI Student Design Competition was established in 2010 as an annual event, specifically for the architectural engineering programs to highlight and showcase the value of collaboration, competition, and peer review, all of which are important in the development of designs in the professional world.


Chair, Jonathan U. Dougherty, Ph.D., Director, Corporate Knowledge, James G. Davis Construction Corporation

Committee Members

  • Leffi Cewe-Malloy, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Bryant Denning, Affiliated Engineers,Inc.
  • Marshall Frey, Clark Construction Group
  • Jon Gardzelewski, R.A., University of Wyoming
  • Anton Harfmann, R.A, University of Cincinnati
  • Ralph Nelson, Lawrence Technological University
  • Shaun Andrew Nienhueser, P.E., HDR
  • Ryan Solnosky, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Josh Szmergalski, Computerized Structural Design
  • Clarence Waters, Ph.D., P.E., University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Geoffrey Wright, EI, Affiliated Engineers, Inc.

Student presenting her design at the 2016 AEI Student Design Competition

Courtyard by Marriott Omaha Aksarben Village
1625 S 67th Street
Omaha, NE 68106


(800) 548-2723
+1 (703) 295-6199

Customer service reps are available to answer your questions Mon-Fri 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET